A Brief Introduction to the Diocese of Hallam

The Diocese of Hallam has 73 churches (as of 2015). The cathedral is in Sheffield  and is dedicated to St Marie.The Diocese of Hallam was founded on 30th May 1980 and is the newest Catholic diocese in England. It incorporates parts formerly in the dioceses of Leeds and Nottingham and consists of the county of South Yorkshire, parts of the High Peak and Chesterfield districts of Derbyshire, and the district of Bassetlaw in Nottinghamshire. It is a suffragan diocese in the Province of Liverpool, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Liverpool.


The diocese’s name comes from Hallamshire, being an old name for the area of Sheffield. The cathedral was designed by Matthew Hadfield and was opened in 1850, partly funded by the Duke of Norfolk.


The diocesan website is here.


The Taking Stock review for Hallam was completed in 2015.