A Brief Introduction to the Diocese of Northampton

18/01/2018 9:00 am

The Diocese of Northampton has 73 churches (as of 2009). The cathedral is in Northampton and is dedicated to Our Lady Immaculate and St Thomas of Canterbury. The Diocese of Northampton encompasses the counties of Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Northamptonshire and that part of Berkshire (formerly in Buckinghamshire) that lies to the north of the River Thames. Until the creation of the Diocese of East Anglia in 1976 it also encompassed the counties of Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk, and was then the single largest Diocese in England and Wales. It is a suffragan diocese in Province of Westminster, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Westminster.

Created on 29th September 1850, the Diocese of Northampton was originally both the largest and least populous of the English dioceses; Cardinal Manning is said to have called it “the dead See.” It is now one of the major growth areas in the country, especially following the 20th-century expansion of Aylesbury, Bedford, Luton, and Northampton, and the building of new towns at Milton Keynes and Corby.

The diocesan website is here.

The Taking Stock review for Northampton was completed in 2009.