Shaldon - St Ignatius of Loyola

Fore Street, Shaldon, Devon

title= title= title= title=

Simple late 18th century former Baptist chapel, much altered but nevertheless making a positive contribution to the local conservation area. 

The church was formerly a Baptist chapel.  It was acquired for the Plymouth Diocese in 1931 by Mgr Ignatius Morrissey, parish priest of Teignmouth, and served from there. Shaldon became an independent parish in 1952.  The parish is now once again served from Teignmouth and has a loyal congregation.

The church is a modest structure, with walls apparently made of cob covered with plaster and painted.  The front toFore Streethas two large round headed windows with metal glazing bars and a central projecting gabled porch with a round-headed doorway.  The roof ridge is parallel to the street. The side and rear elevations are totally enclosed by other buildings, but the rear wall also has two round-headed windows.

 

The interior is a single space with a small southeast chapel space under a modern round-headed arch.  The modern timber floor apparently conceals a tank for total- immersion baptism. There is a modern suspended ceiling. The building was apparently repaired and restored in 1988.  Fittings include a modernistic Italianate timber reredos and a reproduction of Murillo‚Äôs Education of the Virgin on the west wall. 

Diocese: Plymouth

Architect: Not known

Original Date: 1795

Conservation Area: Yes

Listed Grade: Not listed