101 Ulverston Road, Dalton-in-Furness, LA15 8EY
An early twentieth century church in simple lancet Gothic style, originally built for Anglican use.
Catholics in Dalton were originally served from the Jesuit mission established at Ulverston. A dual-purpose building was built in 1879, with a school in the lower room and a chapel above. The Barrow Herald wrote: ‘although it cannot boast of great architectural beauty, it embraces a considerable degree of comfort’. However, this arrangement was not wholly satisfactory, and the parish took the opportunity of acquiring the Anglican church opposite when it became available in 1981. The old school/chapel was subsequently demolished.
The present church was built originally as the Anglican church of St Margaret, and a tablet set into the west front records that the foundation stone was laid by Lady Elizabeth Cavendish on 11 October 1902.
The church is built of white stone with red sandstone dressings. It has a prominent and steeply pitched roof with a continuous ridge, the break between nave and chancel marked by a gabled projection. The church has no tower, but has a tall bellcote rising from the north aisle. Grouped lancets containing stained glass, separated by attached buttresses.
Interior not inspected; In 1969 Pevsner described it as ‘indifferent’. Since then, Fr Dunn (Dean) reports that a narthex has been created at the west end of the nave by screening off two bays of the nave and aisle, containing a kitchen and WC. Similarly, the chancel has been subdivided, and a further room created at its east end.
Entry amended by AHP 18.12.2020
Architect: R. B. Preston
Original Date: 1902
Conservation Area: No
Listed Grade: Not Listed