The Diocese of Liverpool was founded on 29 September 1850, and elevated to the status of an archdiocese on 28 October 1911. It consists of the county of Lancashire (south of the Ribble), parts of Merseyside, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, and the Isle of Man. It is the Metropolitan diocese in the Province of Liverpool. The cathedral is in Liverpool, and is dedicated to Christ the King. 208 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2007).

+Liverpool – Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King

One of the major British buildings of the twentieth century. The building comprises two parts, each of international... Read More

+Liverpool (Isle of Man) – Co-Cathedral Church of St Mary of the Isle, Douglas

Together with the Ramsey church, St Mary of the Isle is one of only two registered (listed) Catholic structures on the... Read More

Aigburth – St Thomas More

A  modest  church built as a Baptist hall at the turn of the twentieth century, with  a  welcoming... Read More

Ainsdale – Sacred Heart

An early twentieth-century brick chapel with a well-designed modern extension.A school-chapel was built in 1878 from... Read More

Aintree – Blessed Sacrament

Edmund Kirby was the architect of many Catholic churches in the North West and Blessed Sacrament is a competent... Read More

Aintree – Holy Rosary

A fairly standard but not uncharacterful design of the 1950s, of reinforced concrete construction and T-shaped in plan.... Read More

Allerton – St Bernadette

An  attractive 1930s church, influenced by  the  work  of  the architects Bernard Miller and... Read More

Anderton – St Joseph

A relatively modest example of the work of E. W. Pugin, with significant local historical associations.Before St... Read More

Anfield – All Saints

A mature and accomplished Perpendicular Gothic design in rock-faced sandstone by J. B. Sinnott, a significant Liverpool... Read More

Ashton-in-Makerfield – Our Lady Immaculate

A good example of the work of Peter Paul Pugin, a well-known Catholic church architect, which preserves much of its... Read More

Ashton-in-Makerfield – St Oswald and St Edmund Arrowsmith

A highly accomplished exercise in historicism, St Oswald’s is the culmination of a series of church designs by J.... Read More

Ashton-in-Makerfield – St Wilfrid

A functional design of the 1970s. The parish was erected in 1959 and the present church built in 1972. It is a... Read More

1 2 3 18