East Anglia

The Diocese of East Anglia was created in 1976, out of the Diocese of Northampton. It covers principally the counties of Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, and Suffolk. The cathedral, dedicated to St John the Baptist, is in Norwich. It is a suffragan diocese in the Province of Westminster, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Westminster. 83 churches were visited for Taking Stock (concluded in February 2020).

+Norwich – Cathedral Church of St John the Baptist

The cathedral church of the Diocese of East Anglia since 1976, designed by George Gilbert Scott Junior and completed... Read More

Aldeburgh – Our Lady and St Peter

A late Gothic Revival church by Arthur Young, showing Arts and Crafts influences. Young’s design was never fully... Read More

Aylsham – St John of the Cross

A functional church of 1961 incorporating an earlier small brick Gothic chapel of 1899. The unique dedication of the... Read More

Beccles – St Benet’s Minster

An impressive, large, cruciform church in neo-Norman style, built for the Downside Benedictines in 1898-1901 from... Read More

Blakeney – St Peter

A small, simple building of 1962 with a vernacular internal character, enlivened by the colourful stained glass of... Read More

Brandon – St Thomas of Canterbury

A utilitarian design-and-build church of 1976, possibly the first to open in the newly-established Diocese of East... Read More

Brantham – Holy Family

A small interwar brick lancet Gothic chapel, established from the former convent at East Bergholt. The church has a... Read More

Buckden – St Hugh of Lincoln

A post-war church designed by Burles & Newton for the Claretian Missionaries, who took up residence in the former... Read More

Bungay – St Edmund

An exuberant display of late nineteenth century medievalism right in the town centre, close to the medieval church of... Read More

Burnham Market – St Henry Walpole

A 1958 (and later) conversion of a utilitarian former factory and showroom to create a modest church and... Read More

Bury St Edmunds – St Edmund King and Martyr

A handsome Greek Revival design of the 1830s, with a stone frontage and built alongside a presbytery of the 1760s.... Read More

Caister-on-Sea – St Ignatius Loyola

A simple but functional building by Wearing & Hastings that has been little changed since it was built in the late... Read More

1 2 3 7