Fore Street, Shaldon, Devon
A simple late eighteenth century former Baptist chapel, much altered but nevertheless making a positive contribution to the local conservation area.
The church was formerly a Baptist chapel. It was acquired for the Diocese of Plymouth in 1931 by Mgr Ignatius Morrissey, parish priest of Teignmouth, and served from there. Shaldon became an independent parish in 1952. The parish is now once again served from Teignmouth.
The church is a modest structure, with walls apparently made of cob covered with plaster and painted. The front to Fore Street has two large round-headed windows with metal glazing bars and a central projecting gabled porch with a round-headed doorway. The roof ridge is parallel to the street. The side and rear elevations are enclosed by other buildings, but the rear wall also has two round-headed windows.
The interior is a single space with a small southeast chapel space under a modern round-headed arch. The modern timber floor apparently conceals a tank for total immersion baptism. There is a modern suspended ceiling. The building was apparently repaired and restored in 1988. Fittings include a modernistic Italianate timber reredos and a reproduction of Murillo’s Education of the Virgin on the west wall.
Architect: Not known
Original Date: 1795
Conservation Area: Yes
Listed Grade: Not Listed