St Luke’s Road, Old Windsor, Berks
A functional timber building of the post-war period.
The idea of a separate church for Old Windsor was first raised in 1946 when Fr O’Donnell came to St Edward’s as a curate. He set up a Mass centre at the Old Windsor Working Men’s Club. Later the centre was moved to the ‘Tapestry Hall’ and plans were made to build at church at Old Windsor. To keep costs down it was decided to use prefabricated sections. The wall panels, ready-made by Lanners of Wakefield, were assembled by the local firm of J.F. Lane & Sons. The church cost £4,500 and was opened on 11 February 1956.
The church has a low brick plinth, hardwood-clad walls and a pitched roof of artificial slate. The windows are timber framed. At the west end is a narthex/porch under its own gabled roof (lower than the main body) and at the east end a sacristy. The centre part of the worship area has a continuous, four-bay run of windows. The interior is characterised by the prominent laminated timber trusses of the frame and the overarching roof. It is seated with chairs and has a plain modern altar.
Architect: Lanner Builders Ltd
Original Date: 1956
Conservation Area: No
Listed Grade: Not Listed