The Diocese of Brentwood was founded on 20 July 1917 out of territory formerly in the Archdiocese of Westminster. It covers the county of Essex, including the unitary authorities of Thurrock and Southend-on-Sea and the east London Boroughs of Barking and Dagenham, Havering, Newham, Redbridge and Waltham Forest. It is a suffragan diocese of the Archdiocese of Westminster in the Province of Westminster. The cathedral is in Brentwood, and is dedicated to St Mary and St Helen. 115 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2012).

Wanstead – Our Lady of Lourdes

A late Gothic Revival church of 1927-28 by Geoffrey Raymond of ScolesĀ & Raymond. The aisles were added in 1934 and... Read More

Warley – Holy Cross and All Saints

A small but unexpectedly rich stone-built church in transitional Romanesque-Early Gothic style, built for the soldiers... Read More

Westcliffe-on-Sea – Our Lady of Help of Christians and St Helen

A High Victorian Gothic church by the local architect Thomas Goodman, with carvings by Thomas Earp. The design is in... Read More

Wickford – Our Lady of Good Counsel

A post-Vatican II church by the prolific firm of Burles, Newton & Partners, its internal plan and design more... Read More

Witham – The Holy Family and All Saints

A former Anglican church of the 1840s in lancet Gothic style, built as a chapel of ease to the medieval parish church.... Read More

Wivenhoe – St Monica

The church is a modern prefabricated structure, of no architectural or historical significance. However, the site is of... Read More

Woodford Green – St Thomas of Canterbury

A large Early English Gothic church by Canon A. J. C. Scoles, who also designed the adjacent Franciscan friary. The... Read More

1 8 9 10