The Diocese of Wrexham was created in 1987, and covers north and central Wales. The diocese is suffragan to the Archdiocese of Cardiff, within the Province of Cardiff. The cathedral, dedicated to Our Lady of Sorrows, is in Wrexham. 59 churches were visited for Taking Stock (concluded in June 2019).

Llanrwst – Eglwys y Bugail Da (The Good Shepherd)

The parish of Llanrwst has historic connections with the promotion of the Welsh language, and has served a small but... Read More

Llay – St Francis of Assisi

A modest and likeable 1950s building of no great architectural pretension, built to serve a mining community. Llay... Read More

Machynlleth – St Mair (Our Lady Help of Christians)

A simple, economical design by the architects of Clifton Cathedral, this is an early post-Vatican II church, built in... Read More

Mold – St David

An accomplished building with a striking presence on the approach to the town centre, and a luminous interior of fine... Read More

Morfa Nefyn – Resurrection of Our Holy Saviour

A utilitarian design of the 1960s, notable for its furnishings, above all twelve dalle de verre windows and a mosaic... Read More

Newtown – God the Holy Spirit

An unusual church and presbytery converted in 1947 from a former flannel mill and inn. The project was conceived by... Read More

Old Colwyn – Sacred Heart

A small and unassuming church in the grounds of St Augustine’s Priory, owned and maintained by the Sisters of the... Read More

Overton – Our Lady and the Welsh Martyrs

The church stands in a picturesque location on the edge of Overton village with views over the adjoining fields. It... Read More

Pantasaph – St David

Pantasaph is a pilgrimage site and a spiritual centre of exceptional importance. The history of its creation is of... Read More

Porthmadog – Most Holy Redeemer

A rugged Romanesque-style church, displaying Arts and Crafts influences and using modern construction techniques. It... Read More

Prestatyn – St Peter and St Frances

A fine example of a type of small-scale and intimate church developed by Edmund Kirby especially for rural locations.... Read More

Pwllheli – St Joseph

An economical design by Maurice T. Pritchard, built in 1982 and replacing a church of 1926 on the same site. The... Read More

1 2 3 4 5