The Diocese of Plymouth was founded on 29 September 1850. It contains the counties of Dorset, Devon and Cornwall, along with the Isles of Scilly. It is a suffragan diocese in the Province of Southwark, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Southwark. The cathedral is in Plymouth and is dedicated to St Mary and St Boniface. 103 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2009).

Kingskerswell – St Gregory

A thoughtful design of the 1960s, rebuilt in the 1970s. Portal frame construction, externally clad in brick, with a... Read More

Launceston – St Cuthbert Mayne

A fine and complete early twentieth century church, built in local stone but in an exotic (for Cornwall)... Read More

Liskeard – Our Lady and St Neot

The church is of historic interest as an early post-Emancipation chapel of 1830. It was greatly enlarged in the 1860s... Read More

Looe – Our Lady and St Nicholas

A very simple structure of the 1920s, notable above all as a minor example of the patronage of Amy Imrie (Mother Clare... Read More

Lyme Regis – St Michael and St George

A fine early Gothic Revival church by a noted provincial architect. Good group of church and attached presbytery... Read More

Lynton – Most Holy Saviour

An early twentieth century church by the notable Catholic architect Leonard Stokes, completed by George Drysdale. The... Read More

Marnhull – Our Lady

A modest country church with some good furnishings, of historic interest as an early post-Emancipation church. The... Read More

Mawnan Smith – St Edward

A comparatively large church given its isolated village position, built in 1964 from designs by Waldo Maitland and... Read More

Modbury – St Monica

A small and functional design of the early 1960s. The architectural claims of the building are modest, but the church... Read More

Mullion – St Michael and the Archangel

A very modest structure of the 1920s, extended in the 1930s and 1950s. The most notable external features are the... Read More

Newquay – Most Holy Trinity

A modest stone-built early twentieth century design by A. J. C. Scoles, on land given by the Molesworth family. The... Read More

Newton Abbot – St Joseph

A large town church built in 1915 by the prolific firm of Scoles and Raymond, in their favoured (and by then decidedly... Read More

1 2 3 4 5 6 9