The Diocese of Plymouth was founded on 29 September 1850. It contains the counties of Dorset, Devon and Cornwall, along with the Isles of Scilly. It is a suffragan diocese in the Province of Southwark, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Southwark. The cathedral is in Plymouth and is dedicated to St Mary and St Boniface. 103 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2009).

Wareham – St Edward the Martyr

A plain red brick interwar design, with later addition, making no more than a modest contribution to the Wareham... Read More

West Moors – St Anthony

A typical church by Lanner Ltd. of Wakefield, who specialised in straightforward churches with prefabricated... Read More

Weymouth – St Augustine of Canterbury

A plain Georgian chapel later aggrandised, including a classical façade of 1909.The earliest baptismal entry for... Read More

Weymouth – St Joseph

An idiosyncratic and attractive church design of the interwar years by George Drysdale, a pupil and partner of Leonard... Read More

Wimborne – St Catherine

A charming, toy-like church of 1933, looking stylistically more like a building of one hundred years earlier. The... Read More

Wool – St Joseph

An impressive 1960s church design, responding thoughtfully to the needs of the post-Vatican II liturgy. The function... Read More

Yelverton – Holy Cross

An accretive stone-faced church dating mostly from the interwar period, with an individual local character.The church... Read More

1 7 8 9