East Anglia

The Diocese of East Anglia was created in 1976, out of the Diocese of Northampton. It covers principally the counties of Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, and Suffolk. The cathedral, dedicated to St John the Baptist, is in Norwich. It is a suffragan diocese in the Province of Westminster, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Westminster. 83 churches were visited for Taking Stock (concluded in February 2020).

Swaffham – Our Lady of Pity

A ‘T’-shaped brick church designed by the parish priest Fr Gerry Langley and built in 1958-60, partly by... Read More

Thetford – St Mary

The oldest freestanding church still in use in the Diocese of East Anglia, built three years before Catholic... Read More

Walsingham – Chapel of St Catherine (Slipper Chapel)

A fourteenth century wayside chapel for pilgrims to the major medieval shrine of Our Lady at Walsingham, rescued from... Read More

Walsingham – Church of the Annunciation

A modern design by Anthony Rossi, opened in 2006 and designed to be carbon neutral. The round tower and attractive... Read More

Walsingham (Houghton St Giles) – Chapel of Reconciliation

A large modern building in the form of a traditional hipped-roofed barn, built in 1982-3 to complement the services in... Read More

Wells-next-the-Sea – Our Lady Star of the Sea

A thoughtfully detailed, well-built and essentially Gothic church of 1928, with a remarkable façade that draws on... Read More

Whittlesey – St Jude the Apostle

A former National School building in a stripped Gothic style, built in 1851.  After over a century of school use... Read More

Wisbech – Our Lady and St Charles Borromeo

A curious architectural hybrid: a small Gothic Revival design of the early 1850s by William Wardell, with a block-like... Read More

Woodbridge – St Thomas of Canterbury

Built in 1850 as the Woodbridge Literary and Mechanics’ Institution, the building became a Catholic church in 1930.... Read More

Wymondham – Our Lady and St Thomas of Canterbury

A concrete frame church of 1952 by local architect Donovan Purcell, extended in 2000-1. It contains the only known... Read More

1 5 6 7