The Diocese of Salford has 184 churches (as of 2014). The cathedral is in Salford and is dedicated to St John the Evangelist. The Diocese of Salford is a relatively small geographical area in the north west of England, extending to the north into Lancashire, west towards Liverpool, south towards northern Cheshire and east towards the Pennines.

Todmorden – St Joseph

A large and plain stone-built interwar church, built in the garden of West Lodge, a villa of 1834, which is now used... Read More

Tottington – St Hilda

A simple and economical church of the 1960s built from designs by Arthur Farebrother & Partners using the Lanner... Read More

Urmston – Our Lady and the English Martyrs

A striking building of some architectural quality in a neo-Romanesque idiom. It makes a positive contribution to the... Read More

Walkden – Christ the King

A striking but nonetheless mainstream design of the early 1960s (i.e. before the Second Vatican Council) with... Read More

Walton-le-Dale – Our Lady and St Patrick

A substantial stone-built church in fourteenth century Gothic style, and an early design by Peter Paul Pugin, built... Read More

Westhoughton – Sacred Heart

The church was purpose-designed for the parish by Pozzoni Design Group and built in 1994-5. Although not of special... Read More

Whalley – English Martyr

A modest structure, built as a temporary church-hall in 1926. The intention was to build a church in the west range of... Read More

Whitefield – St Bernadette

The Manchester architects Reynolds & Scott designed a large number of well detailed churches with simple, vaguely... Read More

Whitefield- St Michael

A modern (2000) functional design, housing a church and parish hall under one roof. In the 1950s Whitefield Urban... Read More

Whitworth – St Anselm

A plain church designed by the first mission priest, Fr John Anselm Milward, and built using voluntary labour. A clock... Read More

1 13 14 15