The Diocese of Liverpool was founded on 29 September 1850, and elevated to the status of an archdiocese on 28 October 1911. It consists of the county of Lancashire (south of the Ribble), parts of Merseyside, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, and the Isle of Man. It is the Metropolitan diocese in the Province of Liverpool. The cathedral is in Liverpool, and is dedicated to Christ the King. 208 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2007).

Woodvale – St John Stone

A modern church built to a fan-shaped plan, providing an intimate worship space within a broadly traditional external... Read More

Woolton – St Mary

St Mary’s church and its ancillary buildings form an attractive group at the heart of the Woolton Conservation Area.... Read More

Worsley Mesnes – St Jude

A fine mid-1960s church by L.A.G. Prichard, with a fan-shaped plan. The circular baptistery is a landmark on the... Read More

Wrightington – St Joseph

A large and characterful late-nineteenth century church and presbytery, built from the designs of James Sinnott for... Read More

1 16 17 18