The Archdiocese of Leeds has 214 churches (as of 2007). The cathedral is in Liverpool and is dedicated to Christ the King. The Diocese of Liverpool was founded on 29 September 1850, and elevated to become an archdiocese on 28 October 1911. It consists of the county of Lancashire south of the Ribble, parts of Merseyside, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, and the Isle of Man. It is the Metropolitan diocese in Province of Liverpool.

Wavertree – St Hugh of Lincoln

An engaging church of 1904 by Pugin & Pugin, St Hugh of Lincoln is characteristic of the work of this prolific... Read More

West Derby – St Paul

The church is a good example of a modest parish church in the free Gothic style, designed by one of the leading Roman... Read More

West Derby – St Timothy

This is a modest brick church built to serve a new housing estate. Its principal interest lies in its resemblance to... Read More

Westvale – St Michael

A functional modern church serving a post-war housing estate. Westvale is one of the districts of the new town of... Read More

Whiston – St Leo

This is a modest functional church building of the 1970s. Whiston originated as a mining village on the edge of... Read More

Whiston – St Luke the Evangelist

An inter-war church in a simplified Romanesque style with spare architectural detailing. Whiston originated as a... Read More

Widnes – Our Lady of Perpetual Succour

An early example of the post-war practice of local architects  L. A.G. Prichard, the building is less accomplished... Read More

Widnes – St Basil

A well-designed modern church, attractive and welcoming in character, and  flexible  in  use.  Whilst  not... Read More

Widnes – St Bede

St Bede’s is a convincing work by a major Gothic Revival architect of the mid 19th  century. Substantial in scale,... Read More

Widnes – St John Fisher

St John Fisher is a small rectangular church of no special architectural or historic interest. The church was... Read More

Widnes – St Michael

St Michael’s is an ambitious and assured work built for the Jesuits by Henry Clutton, one of the leading Victorian... Read More

Widnes – St Pius X

St Pius X is a church of engaging character. Whilst it is not original in its   liturgical   form,   and ... Read More

1 14 15 16 17