The Diocese of Nottingham was founded in 1850, and encompasses the counties of Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire and Rutland. It is a suffragan diocese in Province of Westminster, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Westminster. The cathedral is in Nottingham and is dedicated to St Barnabas. 139 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2011).

Sutton-in-Ashfield – St Joseph the Worker

An ambitious and well-detailed post-war church in modern Romanesque style, occupying a prominent position in the... Read More

Swadlincote – St Peter and St Paul

A building of typical design and materials for its mid-twentieth century date, in a plain round-arched style but with... Read More

Syston – The Divine Infant of Prague

The church developed out of a temporary post-war structure. While of little architectural interest, the building of the... Read More

Tideswell – The Immaculate Heart of Mary (chapel-of-ease)

Unusual as an early Catholic village church, built using simple Gothic details and with an almost vernacular... Read More

Whitwick – Holy Cross

A substantial red brick Edwardian church of 1907 in the Gothic style designed  by  a  parishioner,  adjacent  to... Read More

Wirksworth – Our Lady and St Teresa of Lisieux (chapel-of-ease)

A modest building built of local stone in a low-key but dignified Norman style. An extension has been carefully... Read More

Woodhall Spa – Our Lady and St Peter

An attractive but architecturally unexceptional late Victorian church, originally intended as a dual-purpose school and... Read More

1 10 11 12