The Diocese of Nottingham was founded in 1850, and encompasses the counties of Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire and Rutland. It is a suffragan diocese in Province of Westminster, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Westminster. The cathedral is in Nottingham and is dedicated to St Barnabas. 139 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2011).

Nottingham (St Ann’s) – Our Lady and St Edward

The rather unprepossessing exterior of the church contrasts with the reposeful and attractive plain Gothic character of... Read More

Nottingham (Stapleford) – St John the Evangelist (chapel-of-ease)

A utilitarian brick design of the early 1950s, in the stripped basilican style popular at that time. An intended tower... Read More

Nottingham (West Bridgford) – Holy Spirit

A modest building of the 1970s; the primary interest of the church lies in its internal decorative scheme of murals and... Read More

Nottingham (Wollaton) – St Thomas More

A utilitarian dual-purpose church and hall built in the 1950s as the first phase of a larger never implemented... Read More

Nottingham (Woodthorpe) – The Good Shepherd

In the words of the list entry, ‘this is a fine example of a church designed on Liturgical Movement principles, with... Read More

Oakham – St Joseph

A modern complex combining church, hall and presbytery, designed by a local architect who built widely in the diocese... Read More

Old Glossop – All Saints

A good example of a late Georgian church, built in 1836 in Greek Revival style. Paid for by the twelfth Duke of... Read More

Osgodby – Our Lady and St Joseph (chapel-of-ease)

The oldest surviving church in use in the Diocese of Nottingham. A small and evocative house and chapel built soon... Read More

Radcliffe-on-Trent – St Anne

A modest structure built as a church hall, which has been altered and adapted over the years. The church was built in... Read More

Rainworth – St George (chapel-of-ease)

A portal framed structure of 1960, not of special architectural or historic importance. A Mass centre was established... Read More

Ripley – St Joseph

A building of 1928, adopting a traditional form, loosely Italianate with some Gothic detail. The church has character... Read More

Rothley – The Sacred Heart (chapel-of-ease)

A modest brick chapel of the 1920s, one of a large number built in the diocese by the Leicester builder F.J.... Read More

1 8 9 10 11 12