The Diocese of Plymouth was founded on 29 September 1850. It contains the counties of Dorset, Devon and Cornwall, along with the Isles of Scilly. It is a suffragan diocese in the Province of Southwark, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Southwark. The cathedral is in Plymouth and is dedicated to St Mary and St Boniface. 103 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2009).

Swanage – The Holy Spirit and St Edward

A representative example of the Gothic church output of (Canon) Alexander Scoles, who was prolific in the South Western... Read More

Tavistock – Our Lady of the Assumption

A major landmark in the town, built in 1865-7 by the eighth Duke of Bedford as an Anglican chapel-of-ease for workers... Read More

Teignmouth – Our Lady and St Patrick

A good and complete Gothic Revival church by Charles Hansom, architect of Plymouth Cathedral, perhaps somewhat... Read More

Tintagel – St Paul the Apostle

A plain late 1960s church primarily of interest for its furnishings, including dalle de verre glass by Dom Charles... Read More

Tiverton – St James

The first Catholic church in Tiverton dates from 1836, and is of considerable interest. That however has now closed. St... Read More

Torpoint – St Joan of Arc

A modest interwar church of no architectural importance, but with a claim to be the first church in England dedicated... Read More

Torquay – Our Lady Help of Christians and St Denis

A splendid large church on a prominent site, designed by the distinguished Catholic architect Joseph Hansom, who also... Read More

Torquay – Our Lady of the Assumption

A rigorous Gothic Revival design by Joseph Hansom, with a good set of stained glass windows by Hardman. This was the... Read More

Torquay (Chelston) – Holy Angels

A small church, the main interest of which lies in the elaborate architectural elements, such as the main door surround... Read More

Totnes – St Mary and St George

A welcoming modern building incorporating some items from the 1902 church it replaced. The future parish was... Read More

Truro – Our Lady of the Portal and St Piran

A dramatic, even Brutalist design of the early 1970s, the last and the best of three churches built in the diocese by... Read More

Wadebridge – St Michael

A functional post-war structure close to Wadebridge town centre. From 1926-32 one of the Canons Regular from Bodmin... Read More

1 6 7 8 9