The Diocese of Nottingham was founded in 1850, and encompasses the counties of Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire and Rutland. It is a suffragan diocese in Province of Westminster, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Westminster. The cathedral is in Nottingham and is dedicated to St Barnabas. 139 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2011).

Bourne – St Gilbert

Interesting for its plan form but not otherwise distinguished and clearly built to a tight budget.In 1911 Mary Ann... Read More

Brigg – St Mary

A large church of unusual plan form, designed at the time of the Second Vatican Council to accommodate the needs of... Read More

Broadbottom – The Immaculate Conception

A small rural church in an attractive landscaped setting, built in Gothic Revival style in the 1890s to serve the... Read More

Burton-on-Trent – St Joseph the Worker (chapel-of-ease)

The church occupies the former Winshill Institute, a late nineteenth  century building of some local historical... Read More

Burton-on-Trent – The Holy Rosary

A former Methodist chapel standing on a locally prominent site. Of standard design for the date (1907), the building is... Read More

Buxton – St Anne

This Gothic Revival church of 1861 is a late work of the notable Catholic architect J. J. Scoles. Part of a group of... Read More

Caistor – St Thomas More (chapel-of-ease)

A modern church housed in an extended nineteenth century former printing works. The chief significance of the building... Read More

Calverton – St Anthony (chapel-of-ease)

A modern neo-Vernacular design, nicely detailed and built with flexibility in mind.St Anthony’s is a... Read More

Castle Donington – The Church of the Risen Lord (chapel-of-ease)

A plain modern design, not of architectural or historical significance.The present Catholic community in Castle... Read More

Chapel-en-le-Frith – St John Fisher and St Thomas More

The small church is an attractive feature in an interwar residential area, faced in local stone, designed in a simple... Read More

Charley – Abbey Church of Our Lady and St Bernard (Mount St Bernard)

Mount St Bernard was the first abbey to be founded in England since the Reformation. The Cistercian foundation occupies... Read More

Clay Cross – St Patrick and St Bridget (chapel-of-ease)

A modest late nineteenth century brick chapel, serving a coal mining area, much altered in the 1980s.A chapel was... Read More

1 2 3 4 12