The Diocese of Southwark was founded in 1850, being elevated to become an archdiocese in 1965. It encompasses the areas of the London Boroughs south of the River Thames, the whole county of Kent and the Medway unitary authority.The cathedral is in Southwark, London, and is dedicated to St George. 207 churches were visited for Taking Stock (2009).

Chislehurst (west) – St Patrick

A former cinema of the 1930s, the building was converted in 1961 for use as a church. It retains the original fold-down... Read More

Clapham – Our Immaculate Lady of Victories

One of the major Victorian churches of south London; a Decorated Gothic ragstone church of about 1850 by William... Read More

Clapham Common – St Vincent de Paul

An Italianate design of 1906-07 by Claude Kelly. The intended western campanile was never built, but the church remains... Read More

Clapham Park – St Bede

A quirky Classical design, one of many churches built with the help of Miss Frances Ellis, a major benefactor to the... Read More

Cliftonville – St Anne

As designed in the 1920s, when Margate was still a flourishing resort, St Anne’s was to be a large and splendid... Read More

Colliers Wood – St Joseph

An inexpensive church of the 1960s, with a neo-Georgian show front to the High Street and some good later... Read More

Coulsdon – St Aidan

A church dating largely from the 1960s, but incorporating part of its 1930s predecessor by Adrian Gilbert Scott. The... Read More

Cranbrook – St Theodore

A typical 1950s small church of some architectural pretension, located in the Cranbrook Conservation Area. A mission... Read More

Crayford – St Mary of the Crays

A functional church of 1972-3, part of which used to be the parish hall. It incorporates one stained glass window and... Read More

Croydon – Our Lady of Reparation

A town centre Gothic Revival church of the 1860s by E. W. Pugin, considerably enlarged in the 1880s, in an early work... Read More

Croydon – St Gertrude

A modest neo-Romanesque design of 1903 by F. A. Walters, with additions of 1935 by E. J. Walters, which forms a... Read More

Dartford – St Anselm

A large modern church with a square plan, built in 1973-5. It is the fourth church to serve the parish, and includes... Read More

1 3 4 5 6 7 18