The Diocese of Lancaster has 137 churches (as of 2005). The cathedral is in Lancaster and is dedicated to St Peter. The Diocese of Lancaster was founded on 22 November 1924. It consists of the historic counties of Lancashire north  of the Ribble and the counties of Cumberland and Westmorland. It is a suffragan diocese in Province of Liverpool, and is subject to the Archdiocese of Liverpool.

Blackpool – Christ the King

Part of a major programme of church building in post-war Blackpool. Not (on the basis of external inspection) of... Read More

Blackpool – Holy Family

A late work by the Pugin and Pugin practice, not outwardly of great significance Work started on the church in... Read More

Blackpool – Our Lady of the Assumption

Large church in a blocky style with much bare wall, owing something to the Art Deco style of the 1930s. Not (on the... Read More

Blackpool – Sacred Heart

The earliest and the most architecturally ambitious Catholic church in Blackpool. Built  by  EW  Pugin  at  the... Read More

Blackpool – St Bernadette

Post war church, not (on the basis of external inspection) of special architectural or historic interest. Part of a... Read More

Blackpool – St Cuthbert

Handsome and richly furnished church serving Blackpool’s South Shore, by James O’Byrne, a leading Liverpool... Read More

Blackpool – St John Vianney

The major contribution to a vigorous post-war church building programme in Blackpool and its environs. This is a... Read More

Blackpool – St Kentigern

The first church to be built in the newly-created diocese of Lancaster. St Kentigern is a building of some... Read More

Blackpool – St Margaret Clitherow

Interesting drum-shaped design of the late 1960s. In 1945 the La Sagesse Sisters acquired property adjacent to 575... Read More

Blackpool – St Monica

Functional post war church, of some interest as a late building by Tom Mellor, with original commissioned... Read More

Bolton-le-Sands – St Mary of the Angels

Built  at  the  expense  of  two  well-known  wealthy  local  Catholic  families.  The external appearance... Read More

Carlisle – Christ the King

Post war church, not (on the basis of external inspection) of special architectural or historic interest. The... Read More

1 2 3 4 10